Yugpradhan Acharyasri Tulsi was the 9th Acharya of Terapanth who is also responsible for the development of Jainism as the religion popular among all diversities. This great personality took birth in Ladnun, Rajasthan on the 20 th of October 1914 in the family of Jhumermalji - Vadnaji Khater. At the tender age of 11 years he chose the path of eternal bliss of sainthood on the 5 th of December 1925 in the benign presence of Acharyasri Kalugani. At the age of 22 years, after 11 years of rigourous training in Hindi, Sanskrit and Prakrit Jain literature, Muni Tulsi had to take over the responsibility of the complete sangh on 26 th August 1936.

Yugprdhan Acharyasri Tulsi was a revolutionary saint who brought about many developments affecting both national and international issues.

Important Contributions to the Society
  • Spread of education among the nuns. (Sadhwi)
  • Enlightenment and awakening of the female population of Terapanth.
  • ANUVRAT Movement for the betterment of human lives.
  • PREKSHADHYAAN for mental and physical harmony within the body.
  • Establishment of Jain Vishwa Bharti University at Ladnun.
  • Establishment of Parmarthik Shikshan Program for Mumukshu Sisters.
  • Publication of Jain Agams.
  • Establishment of SAMAN Shreni for the promotion of Jainism across the country and beyond borders.
Important Awards
  • Bharat Jyoti - Udaipur University, Rajasthan.
  • The title of YUGPRADHAN.
  • D.Lit - Central Higher Tibetan Educational Institution, Sarnath (Varanasi)
  • Indira Gandhi National Unity Award
  • Hakim Khan Soor - Maharana Mewad Foundation

Acharyasri Tulsi was a great philosopher, thinker and laureate. His works in hindi, sanksrit and Rajasthani have enriched the world of literature to a great extent.

On the 18 th day of February 1994, he scripted history by voluntarily retiring from his responsibility as the Acharya and bringing his predecessor Yuvacharyasri Mahapragya. Terapanth society honoured him with the title GANADHIPATI, and his period of guidance is considered as the golden period of Terapanth.

Acharya Tulsi Smarak

Acharyasri Tulsi is responsible to have awakened the light of self-realization among women of Terapanth and opened the doors of their development, even though he had to face many difficulties and rebellion. This is the reason why the women of Terapanth are now able to define their existence and mark their milestones Enroute their journey of success.

On the 23 rd day of June 1996, this light of enlightenment bid good-bye to us mortals for a destination beyond the material. Acharya Mahapragya indicated that a memorial be made to commemorate the contributions of Ganadhipati Gurudev Sri Tulsi to the mankind. The materialization of this memorial was taken up by the terapanthi women population, making it the best option to honour the great personality who gave them all they have today - freedom, self - confidence and light of knowledge.

Smt. Tara Surana and Smt. Kanta Bafna, the then president and secretary respectively laid the foundation of this memorial in June 1998 in the benign presence of Acharya Mahapragya at Jain Vishwa Bharti, Ladnun.

Sri Hansrajji Baid supervised the construction process, while the 380 branches of ABTMM collectively contributed for the financial requisites of the project. 16 th December 2000 witnessed the celebration of Silver Jubilee of ABTMM along with the inauguration of the Tulsi Smarak by Smt. Tara Surana and Smt. Kanta Bafna, the then president and secretary respectively.

It was observed that to conserve the memorial a dome was mandatory covering the smarak from the after effects of weather. Hence Smt. Sayar Bengani and Smt. Sarla Bothra, the then president and secretary of ABTMM, took up the responsibility of building the dome in the year 2005-07.

The construction of dome over the memorial was completed in the year 2007-09 and was inaugurated on the 6 th of October 2009 during the 34 th AGM of ABTMM by Smt. Sobhag Baid and Smt. Veena Baid, the then president and secretary respectively. Acharya Mahapragya considers this memorial as the source of energy that drives the whole of Jain Vishva Bharti Campus on the path of eternal glory.


Akhil Bharatiya Terapanth Mahila Mandal (ABTMM)

"Rohini", Jain Vishwa Bharti, Ladnun,Dist. Nagaur Rajasthan. PIN-341306 +91-01581-222070. info@abtmm.in

President - Smt. Kalpana Baid
Secretary - Smt. Suman Nahata
Treasurer- Smt. Sarita Daga